Exchanging more than news in Saudi Arabia.

I have never been abroad. I have never left the country. I haven’t even been to the western part of the United States. Long distance travelling hasn’t been a big part of my background, but it is (and always has been) something I want to pursue in my future.

After reading The News Exchange and understanding the experiences of those who participated, I am struck by one column in particular by recent Harard graduate, Allyson Burley. Writing about “finally being able to truly see,” she says that her perception of Saudi Arabia was previously skewed; that her interaction with its people realigned her views and gave her a beautiful sense of awareness, an even stronger sense of accomplishment, and a deep appreciation for other cultures. And although I haven’t really had the opportunity to participate in a program like the one she experienced, I am even more inspired to travel for deeper reasons than sight-seeing or taking beautiful photographs. From learning ancient rituals and ceremonies to practicing new and different cooking techniques, I want to learn it all and grow from it, just like Allyson did.

– Rheanna Bellomo –

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment