Don’t vote? Don’t listen to that.

The “Don’t Vote” ad shown in class today was appalling. That is the only word I can use to accurately describe it. I was shocked to see a political group telling voters to stay clear of the voting booths–and then to try and pin it on a Latin American group when it was really the GOP? How much lower can it possibly get?!

I realize that their goal was to keep voters from voting Democratic, but–now matter who you are or what your political background–telling anyone not to vote is wrong. By voting, one chooses to voice an opinion, to put a small drop into the bucket and contribute to society. Discouraging such participation is wrong and I will never agree with it–no matter the case. I guess this goes back to Machiavelli’s theory on doing anything for winning. But I don’t agree with that either, so I guess we’re both out of luck.

– Rheanna Bellomo –

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment